Nine weeks in a nutshell

by Amy McLeod
August 1, 2010

In all honesty, I didn’t think I would be able to handle this city.  I thought it would take me the entire summer to learn the subway system.  I thought I would never feel completely comfortable in the city.  I thought I would be so ready to go back to North Carolina, back to the familiar and the easy-going lifestyle.

And yes, I am ready to go home.  I’m ready to be able to drive my car and get some real sweet tea.  But I am going to miss this place.  I’m going to miss the hustle-and-bustle of the city and the constant excitement.

I’m still not ready to graduate.  But my time in New York has made me both more confident and more excited to graduate.  I know now that I can live on my own and take care of myself.

I’ve always been very close with my family and anticipated moving back to Raleigh after graduation.  That’s definitely still an option, but I know now that I am not limited.  I took on New York City and came out (relatively) unscathed.   If I can do that in NYC, I feel confident that I can live anywhere.

For me, this summer was so much more than just an internship and a class.  It was a chance for me to push myself and test my boundaries.  And while I’m still not keen on the idea of growing up and being a real person, I am excited to know that I can and will survive.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

