What is this feeling? I think it’s called obsession.

by Amy McLeod
July 14, 2010

“You deserve each other, this hat and you.  You’re both so…smart.”

I can’t tell you how many times those lyrics from the Wicked song “Dancing through Life” have been on repeat in my head this summer.  Mind you, I had never seen the show and I had no context for the lyrics.  One of my roommates is a Wicked fanatic and would play the songs incessantly. After awhile, they just stuck.

There was a lot of build up to Wicked.  I’ve been hearing about since high school, when one of my best friends became obsessed.  Now, I can hardly walk into my New School dorm without hearing one of the many amazing songs.

Having heard so much about Wicked made me that much more excited to see the show.  I wanted to know who was singing the songs.  What were they talking about? And what in the world caused the feelings of unadulterated loathing?

I’ve never been a huge fan of “The Wizard of Oz” so I was a little nervous about seeing Wicked.  I was afraid that it wouldn’t live up to hype that surrounded it.  But, I am happy to report that this uncertainty was completely unwarranted.  I was taken aback by the scale of the show and how magnificent the performances were.  Katie Rose Clark as Glinda and Jennifer DiNoia as Elphaba were amazing.  The costumes were intricate and the scenery made the audience believe it was in Oz with the two witches.

Following the show, we were able to check out the stage.  There was scenery stored on either side, above and below the stage.  We say where some costume changes take place and the tracks where the scenery comes into and off of the stage.  We saw where Elphaba gets her green make up touched up between acts and where the munchkin heads hang when they’re not being worn.  It was an insiders look at what takes place behind the scenes of a Broadway production.

After I got back from the show last night, I went straight to youtube.com and watched scenes from the show over and over…and over.

I think it’s safe to say that I have a full-blown case of Wicked fever.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

